In an effort to keep our members healthy and safe, we have rescheduled the 30th Annual ATHENA Awards to April 28, 2021.  Stay tuned for more details.

Annual ATHENA Awards®

The Buffalo Niagara Partnership is the area representative for ATHENA International, a nonprofit that seeks to support, develop, and honor women leaders. The ATHENA Awards® are celebrated around the world in more than 500 communities and 8 countries. Since 1989, the Partnership has been honored to produce the annual ATHENA Awards® Luncheon, at which finalists for the ATHENA Leadership Award®, the ATHENA Young Professional Leadership Award®, and the ATHENA Organizational Award® are honored.

About the Award Categories

Leadership Award®

The ATHENA Leadership Award® honors an exceptional individual who has achieved the highest level of professional excellence, contributed time and energy to improve the quality of life for others in the community, and actively assisted others—particularly women—in realizing their full leadership potential.

ATHENA Young Professional Leadership Award®

The ATHENA Young Professional Leadership Award® honors an emerging leader who demonstrates excellence, creativity, and initiative in their business or profession, and serves as a role model for young women personally and professionally.

Organizational Award®

The ATHENA Organizational Award® recognizes 2 organizations: One for-profit organization and one non-profit organization that supports, develops, and honors women leaders, inspiring women to achieve their full potential and creating balance in leadership throughout Buffalo Niagara.

ATHENA Awards® Honorary Steering Committee


Honorary Co-Chairs:

Crystal D. Peoples-Stokes
Majority Leader | New York State Assembly

Trina Burruss
Regional Vice President and Community Relationship Officer | Northwest Bank

Steering Committee Members:

Lorrie Clemo
President | D’Youville College

Ann M. Evanko
President & Managing Member | Hurwitz & Fine, P.C.

Mary Owusu
VP – Digital Strategy & Analytics | Mower

Danielle Ossher
Editor | Buffalo Magazine

Rhonda Frederick
President and CEO | People, Inc.

Sharon Randaccio
President and CEO | Performance Management Partners

Katie Krawczyk
CEO and Partner | 19 Ideas

2019 ATHENA Awards® Recipients

On June 4, 2019 in front of a crowd of more than 600 at the Buffalo Niagara Convention Center, we celebrated the 20 finalists and announced the two recipients of the 2019 ATHENA Awards.®

The 2019 recipients were:

  • JoAnn Falletta, Music Director, Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra – 2019 ATHENA Leadership Award®
  • Katie Krawczyk, Partner & CEO, 19 IDEAS – 2019 ATHENA Young Professional Leadership Award®


For a full list of previous ATHENA Award® recipients, click here.

Visit our blog to learn more about each of the 2019 finalists.


See the Buffalo News Smiles Gallery


Thank you to the sponsors of our 30th Annual ATHENA Awards Luncheon

Title Sponsor
Presenting Sponsor
Pre-Luncheon Networking Sponsor
Official Accounting Sponsor
LM logo final
Television Sponsor
WKBW logo
Official Media Sponsor
Video Production Sponsor