Skip to content

2023 ATHENA Awards®


Congratulations to the 2023 Finalists and Recipients of the

32nd Annual ATHENA Awards®

Since 1989, the BNP has been honored to produce the annual ATHENA Awards® Luncheon, at which finalists for the ATHENA Leadership Award®, the ATHENA Young Professional Leadership Award®, and the ATHENA Organizational Award® are celebrated.  Recipients of each award are selected by secret ballot and announced LIVE at the event. 

Our 2023 ATHENA Award® Recipients:

ATHENA Leadership Award®
Dr. Allison Brashear
Vice President for Health Sciences & Dean | Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences at the University at Buffalo 

ATHENA Young Professional
Leadership Award® Recipient:
Crystal Selk
Executive Director  |  West Side Community Services


Learn more about all of our Organizational For-Profit Finalists here and the Organizational Non-Profit Finalists here.

Interested in Honoring an Individual or Organization with a Nomination for the 2024 ATHENA Awards?
Say Yes Student program ad - Bflo Magazine 2023_FINAL

The Buffalo Niagara Partnership invites you to get to know the 20 amazing women leaders and 10 incredible organizations that support women in leadership who were finalists in BNP's 2023 ATHENA Awards®.

About the ATHENA Awards®

The Buffalo Niagara Partnership is the area representative for ATHENA International, a nonprofit that seeks to support, develop, and honor women leaders. The ATHENA Awards® are celebrated around the world in more than 500 communities and 8 countries.

The Annual Luncheon brings the individual and organizational finalists together with the community for networking and a celebratory Awards presentation!

Thank You to our 2023 Annual ATHENA Award® Sponsors

Title Sponsor

Presenting Sponsor

Finalist Sponsor

Official Accounting Sponsor

LM logo final

Official Media Sponsor

Event Sponsor

Supporting Sponsors

Interested in sponsoring the 2023 ATHENA Awards® Luncheon?

Contact: Liz Benkovich, Vice President, Member Engagement & Development  |  716-868-6866

ATHENA Awards® Executive Committee

Trina Burruss
President/CEO | United Way

Lorrie Clemo
President | D’Youville University

Juweria Dahir
Director, Innovation Community  |
Adjunct Professor, Business & Entrepreneurship at Daemen University

Rhonda Frederick
President and CEO | People, Inc.

Melissa Free
SVP & Chief Marketing Officer | Seneca Resorts & Casinos

Rachael Ireland
Social Impact & Community Engagement Specialist | Rich Products Corporation

Danielle Ossher
Creative Director | Buffalo Magazine

Mary Owusu
CEO & Head of Digital |

Teresa Sprague
Creative Services Manager | Independent Health

Vilona Trachtenberg
Distribution Coordinator |  New Era Cap Company

Elizabeth Woike-Ganga
President/CEO | BestSelf Behavioral Health

Sujata Yalamanchili
Partner | Hodgson Russ LLP