Regional Economic Development Councils (REDC)

In 2011, New York State created 10 Regional Economic Development Councils to develop long-term strategic plans for economic growth for their regions. A key component of a transformative approach to economic development, these councils are public-private partnerships made up of local experts and stakeholders from business, academia, local government and non-governmental organizations.

Over the past few years, as part of a process that has awarded more than $2 billion for job creation and community development, the Regional Councils produced innovative plans and implementation agendas that reflect the distinct characteristics of each of the 10 regions of the State.

The Western New York Regional Council covers the Buffalo-Niagara metropolitan area, aiming to create opportunities for economic growth and expansion through:

  • Smart Growth Initiatives
  • Workforce Development Initiatives
  • Tourism Initiatives

The WNY REDC consists of representatives from the public and private sector including local and state government officials, business leaders, and economic development experts.

Links & Resources

New York State Economic Development Councils

Visit Website

Western New York Regional Economic Development Council

Visit Website