12.14 COVID-19 Bulletin: More of Niagara County Moves to Yellow Zone

Governor Cuomo Announced Today That More of Niagara County Moves to Yellow Zone  

Governor Cuomo announced today that a larger section of Niagara County is now designated as a Yellow Zone as part of the state’s Cluster Action Initiative.  These designations require certain activities and operations to stop or scale down until further notice.

The expanded Yellow Zone in Niagara County now covers all or part of:

  • Niagara Falls
  • Town of Niagara
  • Lewiston
  • Wheatfield
  • Pendleton
  • Cambria
  • Newfane
  • Lockport
  • Royalton

Other municipalities in Erie and Niagara counties have already been designated as Orange or Yellow Zones. Maps of these areas can be found here.

The state’s Cluster Action Initiative also includes the possibility of being designated a Red Zone.  A breakdown of what is and is not allowed under Red, Orange and Yellow zones is here.

As a reminder, the following municipalities have previously been designated Orange Zones: 
  • Amherst 
  • Aurora 
  • Buffalo 
  • Cheektowaga 
  • Clarence 
  • Eden 
  • Elma 
  • Evans 
  • Grand Island 
  • Hamburg 
  • Lackawanna 
  • Lancaster 
  • Orchard Park 
  • Tonawanda(City & Town) 
  • West Seneca 


In an Orange Zone:

  • Non-essential ‘high risk’ business must operate at 25% of occupancy under new testing requirements and (gyms, fitness centers and classes, barber shops, hair salons, personal care services)   
  • Non-residential gatherings are limited to 10 people both indoors and outdoors 
  • Residential gatherings are limited to 10 people both indoors and outdoors 
  • Restaurants are limited to take-out, delivery, or outdoor dining (4 person per table max) 
  • Schools are closed, remote instruction only unless testing protocols are met 
  • Houses of worship capacity cap at lesser of 33% of capacity or 25 people  


The following municipalities remain in a Yellow Zone:  
  • All Erie County towns not on Orange Zone list 
  • North Tonawanda 
  • Wheatfield (south of Niagara Falls Boulevard)  


In a Yellow Zone:

  • All business can remain open 
  • Non-residential gatherings are limited to 25 people both indoors and outdoors 
  • Residential gatherings are limited to 10 people both indoors and outdoors 
  • Houses of worship must limit capacity to 50% of maximum 
  • Indoor and outdoor dining is allowed with a maximum of 4 people per table 
  • Schools remain open but are subject to mandatory weekly testing of students and staff 


Employers are reminded that they must follow all industry specific re-opening guidelines as has been the case for the last several months.  Those guidelines can be found here.   




The Buffalo Niagara Partnership is committed to providing employers with the latest information and resources to help you deal with COVID-19 and its impact on our community, state and nation. Visit our Events and Resource pages as they are updated regularly to provide you with the most current information.

Do you have specific questions related to running your business or your business unit? Visit the BNP Business Link, a question and answer forum for, and by, the Buffalo Niagara business community.  Submit your questions and get expert answers on just about any topic from legal, IT, HR, NYS regulations, sales, marketing, communications and more.  It is quick, confidential, powerful and convenient.


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email

Related Posts